Ambient Experimental Premiere

PREMIERE: Lee Evans – Puss Caterpillar

Human Pitch – Release: 8th May 2020

Regular readers and listeners will have noticed we rather like this new record from Lee Evans. So we feel extra privileged to share an exclusive premiere of the opening track, from his new LP ‘Aphasic Forest’, released on Friday via Human Pitch!

Sit back and enjoy the immersive microscopic world he creates in ‘Puss Caterpillar’:

Flatland Frequencies ยท PREMIERE: Lee Evans – Puss Caterpillar
Ambient Radio

Flatland Frequencies 30/4/20


  1. Natal Uranus – Sea Urchin
  2. Pools Of Light – Field Lines Cartographer
  3. Wind Chimes – Denis Smalley
  4. Untitled – Taylor Deupree (Live In Melbourne)
  5. Why On Earth – Polypores
  6. Etxeberri – Luke Abbott & Jack Wyllie
  7. Horizon I’ve Ever Seen Before – Hiroshi Yoshimura
  8. Cosmic Time – Field Lines Cartographer
  9. Loose Truth – Jack Jutson
  10. Quiet Tempest – Valotihkuu
Electro Experimental Review

Datassette – Void Fill Product

Bandcamp: Out Now

16 tracks of pure dopeness from Datassette on this self-released LP via bandcamp.

Ambient Radio

Flatland Frequencies 23/4/20


1 Flatland Frequencies (Intro) – Luke Sanger
2 Fire – Sister Irene O’Connor (Fire Of God’s Love)
3 Ramesside Dream Manual – Lee Evans (Aphasic Forest)
4 Everyone – Jogging House (Chants)
5 Fragile II – Kryshe (Continuum)
6 Tadpoles – Polypores (Brainflowers)
7 pou morimoto – naoki (hibi)
8 Flight of the Raven – Emerald Web (Dragon Wings and Wizard Tales)
9 Dusk – Valotihkuu (By the River)
10 Serenade – Eivind Aarset & Jan Bang (Snow Catches on Her Eyelashes)
11 spiral – dan derks (phylum)
12 Knowledge Particle – Ali Wade (Microhumans)
13 Afternoon – Julianna Barwick (Circumstance Synthesis)
14 Latibule – Bedroom (A Thousand Harmonies in Silence)
15 Tape Loop 30-09-2019 – Valotihkuu (Patreon)
17 spoiled water – dan derks (phylum)
18 Pyrenees dreams (Slight Return) – Sanger (Pyrenees Dreams)
19 Human – Loops (Soundcloud)
20 5G (The Other Frequency) – Polypores (Universe B)
21 Ziwzih Ziwzih 00-00-00 – Delia Derbyshire (BBC Radiophonic Music)
22 Puss Caterpillar – Lee Evans (Aphasic Forest)
23 Night – Julianna Barwick (Circumstance Synthesis)
24 Overmind – Ali Wade (Microhumans)
25 Hangingstones – Craven Faults (Erratics & Unconformities)
26 Chance – Jogging House (Chants)
27 kino morimoto – naoki (hibi)
28 Reset Loop – Bedroom (A Thousand Harmonies in Silence)
29 Two Days in June – Eivind Aarset & Jan Bang (Snow Catches on Her Eyelashes)


Returning to the Airwaves

Flatland Frequencies originated as a radio show in 2016. After some time away from the airwaves, we are returning next Thursday (23rd April) 10pm – midnight and every week thereafter. On Future Radio 107.8FM (Norwich area) and online via

Expect the finest in Ambient / Techno / Elektronische Musik.

All shows will be archived and tracklists posted here for posterity.

Ambient Review

Lee Evans – Aphasic Forest

Human Pitch – Release: May 8th 2020

Lee Evans (not the comedian) provides a glimpse into the microcosmos via the means of modular synthesis, in this delicate collection of generative compositions on Human Pitch records.

Premiere Techno

PREMIERE: OverworX – You Better Know

Overworx – Release: 10th April 2020

Amidst the bleak lockdowns, the echoing mantras of “stay indoors” and other rituals that present themselves in our newly enforced climate, art and creativity take on new meaning and importance.

Cookie-cutter dance music and bandwagon-hopping DJs have been ruthlessly sucked out the airlock, floating in limbo and directionless. Luckily for us, it appears the realness is surviving, like mutated roots waiting to bust through the veneer and grow back harder and more twisted than before.

Utopian future or dystopian state. Whatever happens post-virus, you can be sure Ben Pest will be providing the gritty, fucked-up soundtrack.

Pre-order here

Ambient Feature

Working From Home – Corona Virus Pandemic Lockdown Selection

In these strange times of covid19 pandemic-related isolation and measures of enforced lockdown, we need sounds to keep us sane and self-motivated. Here is a Spotify playlist to help you get through a day working at home.

Ambient Review

Stephen Prince – ‘The Corn Mother: Night Wraths’

A Year In The Country – Release: 16th March 2020

Eerie electronica, characterised by distant synthetic messages and spindly environmental noise. The latest offering from A Year In The Country, continues with earthy drones and odd folklore in both it’s sound design and accompanying Novella.

Ambient Premiere

PREMIERE: Polypores – Lune

Release: 18th March 2020

Polypores gives us an exclusive full track premiere from their upcoming ‘Piano Dismantled’ album.